Secrets

http://postsecret.blogspot.com/

This is art.

I want to do something even remotely as powerful….authentic.

What’s your secret?

I’ve been obsessively trying to think of what one of mine might be…though I suppose if I really nailed it I wouldn’t want to post it, usually being too open for my own good.

Besides, the ones I’ve come up with are all so tacky-emo-sounding:

“I can’t remember the last time I thought sincere, romantic love was attainable, at least for me.”

“I’ve accepted failure as a lifestyle choice.”

“My best friend died in 2002, and I haven’t let anyone in since.”

I mean, really.

Someday, I’ll find it, and the wonderful web shall be the first to know.

Love-

RS

9 thoughts on “Secrets”

  1. I’ve read through the published book, and by the end felt so insanely burdened I might have cried. I don’t think I did, but all that loss and sadness, so terrifying and real, was welling up inside. I’m not sure what my secret would be either–except I think we all fear the same things, have the same secrets, want the same love.

  2. Does sincere, romantic love exist?

    Talia, you are precluded from answering this question. I already know what you would say.

    More and more, I believe love and especially sex are power struggles, a way of the sexes warring against one another on a micro level.

    I might be making that up. But I’m not sure. Anyway, does it exist?

  3. YES! But don’t try to romanticize it or you’ll make it into something it’s not…and it can’t take away all of your problems.

    But it does exist.

    😉

    I can’t keep my mouth shut.

  4. I think sincere, romantic love exists as well, and hell, you might as well romanticize it. Yes, don’t make it something it’s not, but, man, let it be beautiful.

  5. Without thinking too deeply upon your question of trust, my short answer is no. However, you have to trust someone to make love last. (Of course, just as soon as I typed that I started rethinking it. The real answer is, I don’t know, but that’s what I’m currently thinking anyway.)

  6. Silly, girl, Rachel. You don’t get to choose who you love! You just get to choose what you do with it. That’s the poetry of it all, heart and brains (and yes, other body parts) all tied up together in this completely wonderful mess we call human beings.

Leave a Reply

