Open Road

For Her; she knows who and what she is…

(From ‘Song of the Open Road’, Walt Whitman)

Afoot and light-hearted I take to the open road,
Healthy, free, the world before me,
The long brown path before me leading wherever I choose.

Henceforth I ask not good-fortune, I myself am good-
fortune,
Henceforth I whimper no more, postpone no more, need
nothing,
Done with indoor complaints, libraries, querulous criti-
cisms,
Strong and content I travel the open road.

The earth, that is sufficient,
I do not want the constellations any nearer,
I know they are very well where they are,
I know they suffice for those who belong to them.

From this hour I ordain myself loos’d of limits and imag-
inary lines,
GOing where I listm my own master totla and absolute,
Listening to others, considering well what they say,
Pausing, searching, receiving, contemplating,
Gently, but with undeniable will, divesting myself of the
holds that would hold me.
I inhale great draughts of space,
The east and west are mine, and the north and south
are mine.

I am larger, better than I thought,
I did not know I held so much goodness.

. . .

Here is realization,
Here is a man tallied–he realizes hre what he has in him,
The past, the future, majesty, love–if they are vacant of
you, you are vacant of them.

. . .

I give you my love more precious than money,
I give you myself before preaching or law;
Will you give me yourself? will you come travel with me?
Shall we stick by each other as long as we live?

* * *

Leave a Reply

