Art Institute, Ho!

It’s almost 3am, and I’m waking back up at 6:30am to get around to catch the 8:55am train to Chicago…whee!

I’m going with my writers group (well, part of it, our ‘leader’ of sorts with her family and another member, and then myself) to the Art Institute to see the special Edward Hopper / Winslow Homer exhibits. We’re eating lunch in Millennium Park, hitting the galleries at 2:30pm and then catching the 5 or 7pm train back home.

It’s going to make for a very long day, but I’m excited. It should be a very fun day with some special people in my life. I haven’t been to Chicago or any other real city for a while, so I’m really looking forward to it. I was in Chi-town for Wired’s NextFest in 2005, that was my last voyage.

Very little sleep…lots of coffee…2.5-hour train ride, a day and evening in a big city, hours spent wandering an art gallery, then who knows what before crash…I love it. I wish this were what my life more often resembled, but I’ll take it today and then see if I can start making changes here and there to incorporate these kinds of things more often…need to get out, smell city air, see the motions of people, read more, write more, sit and watch more.

Enough rambling for now, be safe out there kids!

3 thoughts on “Art Institute, Ho!”

  1. I envy you guys. Hope it was as great a day as it sounds like. ๐Ÿ™‚

    And speaking of your recent posts… Audioslave, Metallica, Foo Fighters, American Beauty and Rainer Maria Rilke? I think we may be siblings and don’t know it. That list covers mine and my brother’s oddly overlapping sensibilities pretty succinctly.

    What are your takes on, say, Aqua Teen Hunger Force and Dave Matthews Band?

  2. It was a great day, even the rain-soaked parts.

    Hahah, we might be related my friend, it sounds that way anyway.

    Keeping with that trend, I worship at the altar of ATHF but I’m not even remotely a DMB fan. Hmm.

Leave a Reply

