Excerpt: Spencer Madsen’s ‘You Can Make Anything Sad’

Tuesday, October 9, 2012

 

I have this very uncomfortable feeling of doing nothing.
Just sitting. Trying to get rid of it. Eating excessively.
Masturbating excessively.

Too occupied with myself to leave my apartment, or read a
book, or watch a movie.

I need to have rough sex or get into a fight.

But neither of those things are possible, given my isolation
and nature.

It’s like restless leg syndrome, only my whole life.

I want to do something insane but I want the insane thing to
be presented to me when I walk into the living room.

I have gotten nothing done and I realize that the true reason
I need to go to a cafe to write is because I can’t masturbate
in a cafe.

Leave a Reply

